Baked & Wired Unporked Elvis Cupcake Review

Elvis isn’t dead! He lives on–in kitschy memorabilia, impersonators, and anything that mixes bananas and bacon.

Apparently, this cupcake used to be the ‘Elvis’, and contained everyone’s favorite pork product–but I guess over the years, it’s turned into a “banana cupcake topped with peanut butter frosting and drizzled with chocolate”.

the king is back?

Kendra: Well, going into this, I knew that at the very least I’d like the frosting. When it comes to desserts and fruit, bananas are always at the bottom of my list of what to get. They just have a very unassuming flavor. When banana is present in cake, it usually ends up being less of a dessert and more of a snack or breakfast item. There’s nothing wrong with it, I guess I just feel that ‘banana cupcake’ is one step removed from ‘banana muffin’. This banana-based cake base isn’t too different in that regard–it’s perfectly competent, and might have a finer crumb than a muffin, but it’s definitely not dessert-like. The frosting, of course, is a different story, and you should know my feelings on it from our Pretty Bitchin’ review. Not a bad cupcake overall, just nothing exciting…unless you’re into bananas, in which case have I got something for you! B-

Kat: While I enjoy the occasional green-edged banana, I have a bias against banana-flavored foods. The sweetness of ripe banana is too strong for me, in an almost-rotten sort of way. I would never have picked this cupcake if we weren’t on a quest to try every flavor. It’s not a bad pastry, though. In the base, the texture is definitely cake, and the flavor quite banana muffin. The frosting is the same buttercream as Pretty Bitchin. The saltiness of the peanut butter helps neutralize the banana-sweetness in the cake. I appreciate the texture contrast of biting through the hardened chocolate drizzle. Overall, the experience is more like a snack than a dessert. Not bad, but not for me.  C+

mmmpeanut butter

2 Comments

Filed under Reviews, The Great DC Cupcake Quest

2 responses to “Baked & Wired Unporked Elvis Cupcake Review

  1. Marymary

    Why someone would remove bacon from any recipe is beyond me.

  2. Pingback: Baked & Wired Mocha Cupcake Review | Sugar Vamps

Leave a Reply

