The Nicholas Cage Belated Birthday Cake

So.

I have a slight problem–I am fascinated by Nic Cage and his ‘acting’. I find it endlessly entertaining, even while sober.

One of my 2011 Resolutions was to attempt to watch all of his movies. We’ll see if I can pull this off.

It was his birthday on January 7th. On January 8th, my partner-in-crime came over and we baked a cake.

Not just any cake, mind you.

We started off with a layer of flourless chocolate on the bottom, and chocolate sponge cake on the top. Sandwich between them you can see chocolate hazelnut mousse and raspberry preserves.

I can't believe I ate the whole thing! Or most of it, anyway.

We covered it in chocolate ganache, with as much reverence as you can muster when you think about movies like “The Rock” and “Wicker Man”.

nutella fluffernutter

The hazelnut mousse was so good that we decided to go ahead and smother the thing in another layer.

FEEL THE MARZIPAIN

The best way to improve on a good thing is to cover it in marzipan, so that’s what Kat and I did. Then we hastily scrawled Nic Cage’s name on top, added a candle, and honored the man by digging in.

Leave a comment

Filed under Kitchen Kwest

Leave a Reply

